Gluten free – Pizza Express

I feel like I haven’t written anything on here for years. I’ve been really busy getting everything finished up in the last few weeks of my second and final year at college, along with having got myself a position interning with a company in Glasgow, as well as going to Cyprus for a weeks holiday.

So I’ll catch up on what I’ve been doing in terms of gluten free-ing. 

As everyone will know by now, Pizza Express launched a gluten free range at the end of April. I don’t remember ever having been to Pizza Express before I became allergic to wheat, but I know all my friends say that the pizza is great there – so I was pleased to be able to finally see what it was all about! We went to the nearest restaurant to us which is on Sauchiehall Street in Glasgow – it’s a nice restaurant inside and out.

My friend won a “taste card” a while ago which in Pizza Express entitles the holder to buy one get one free on each course, so my boyfriend and I borrowed the card (I am not sure sharing the card amongst your friends is entirely allowed but what the heck) and decided to go for a pizza. I would buy myself a taste card, but at nearly £80 a year, I don’t think I’d be able to afford to actually go for the meals after buying one!

For my main course I had the Pollo ad Astra pizza which is chicken, peppadew sweet peppers, cajun spices, garlic oil and red onions. It was pretty different to other gluten free pizzas I’ve had from restaurants or take-away’s – it was less doughy and more of an authentic Italian thin base. I can’t say I was blown away by the pizza, but in all fairness it was definitely the best gluten free pizza I’ve had (I’m not really classing it in the same category as Domino’s because that’s more of a pizza-pie type base). 

Pizza Express Gluten Free Pizza

As it was a buy one get one free deal, we felt as though it would be silly not to order pudding so I ordered the gluten free chocolate brownie from the Dolcetti menu – mini puddings that come with a hot drink. The brownie itself was nice, however it didn’t come served with a strawberry as it was shown on the menu. 

When we went to pay, the bill came and the main courses were marked as buy one get one free, however both of the deserts were being charged for. When I asked the waitress about this she told me that the Dolcetti desserts aren’t included in the taste card two for one offer so I pointed out that the chocolate brownie was the only gluten free desert on the menu. The waitress told me the sorbet was also gluten free (which I had suspected would be – apart from the fact it was served with a wafer) but as it hadn’t appeared on the menu as being gluten free she agreed that we wouldn’t have to pay for the second dessert.

All in all, our bill came to just over £20 for two drinks, two pizzas and two desserts which I can’t complain about! I don’t think I would choose to go to Pizza Express again without a taste card or a similar offer as I think it could become quite expensive, but I did enjoy my pizza!

2 thoughts on “Gluten free – Pizza Express

  1. Hi Hatty- my daughter aged 14 is Coeliac (diagnosed age 2) and has done the rounds of gluten free pizza. We recently went to Pizza Express specifically to try it out and she was underwhelmed- reckons Pizza Hut is tastier but best of all is La Favorita in Edinburgh. If you are ever through here in Edinburgh don’t miss it, on Leith Walk- wins awards for its Pizza, and also does gluten free pasta dishes. A family run business they also have other more general Italian restaurants (Vittorias) which have well marked and varied gluten free options. http://www.vittoriagroup.co.uk/#udf_home

    • Hi Niamh. I would have to agree that for a large chain, I would have expected Pizza Express to be better, however I was still glad to get to try it finally!

      I have had a pizza from Vittorias a few years ago (long before I started this blog), when I was newly diagnosed – I remember being impressed with it. I am actually moving to Edinburgh in around a month so La Favorita is on the top of my list to try properly when I come through 🙂

Leave a Reply

