A little bit of dirt is good for you!

An article has just been published in The Telegraph (you can find it here – http://www.telegraph.co.uk/health/dietandfitness/4703957/The-Allergy-Guide-too-clean-for-our-own-good.html#) which states that a possible reason for the huge and continuous rise in people suffering from allergies goes hand in hand with society’s obsession with cleanliness and getting rid of germs. I’m not dismissing this claim, as I fully believe it, although I do feel a bit unlucky – I’m allergic to wheat, soya, hazelnuts, peanuts, walnuts, coconut and animal hair, yet on a scale of one to clean freak, I’d say I don’t score very highly! Where I don’t go around eating dirt off the floor, I don’t see anything wrong with preparing food without wearing latex gloves, amongst other ridiculous things people do these days. 

I fully believe that this germ-free world has something to do with people developing so many allergies and our bodies just not being able to process things any more, and the figures are shocking – The Telegraph states that the number of people being diagnosed with allergies is growing by 5% every year, with the most common allergies being wheat, gluten, eggs, milk, nuts and shellfish. 

The awareness of these allergies is no doubt great for the people already suffering from them – I notice new gluten-free products popping up weekly – but it makes you think, when will it stop? When it is suggested that another reason people are so allergic these days – whereas 40 years ago if you told someone you couldn’t have wheat you’d have been laughed at – it seems it must be somewhat down to processed foods or some kind of manufacturing process. 

2 thoughts on “A little bit of dirt is good for you!

  1. Howdy! This post couldn’t be written any better! Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept talking about this. I am going to send this information to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

